Level 1: TTMIK “Yes, No, and What?” Podcast #2

안녕하세요!

And for those who don’t quite remember (or who didn’t read my last entry) – that means hello!

tumblr_o6i83lsczu1uj3c04o1_500
Oh yeah! I did it! Already using what I have learned! Whoo!

Did y’all enjoy that last podcast? Because I sure did. Next one is actually something I had not realized and learned about the difference between “Yes and No” in English versus “Yes and No” in Korean. What do I mean? You’ll see. It is fascinating.

Again, this is courtesy of TalkToMeInKorean.com and their hard work!
In fact, I highly encourage you take a look at the PDF provided on this page for this lesson.

First thing I want to start with is that when we here “ne” and “aniyo” we think “yes” and “no”. I am going to talk about these words/explain them one way to see if it makes more sense. Because just traditional “yes” and “no” doesn’t quite fit.

First word:

tumblr_inline_obxiclnwvy1salc9e_500

Pronounced like “neh”. And it doesn’t quite mean “yes”. The more fitting definition is “Agree”. Because you would use it to agree with a statement rather than just to say yes. The example they used in their PDF I think sums it up really well. So  will do the same here.

Example:
If you are like me, you don’t like coffee. And this makes a perfect example for how 네 will be used.

Someone says: “You don’t like coffee?”
I would reply: “No, I don’t like coffee.” or simply – 네 (neh).

Explanation? I am agreeing with their statement. I agree that I do not like coffee. In English, I would say No, because I am confirming the ‘negative’ and saying I do not like coffee. In Korean, I would just say 네(neh) to confirm. I like how TTMIK put it in their PDF:

Capture

*SPECIAL NOTE* There is more to this word than meets the eye but we will have that fun stuff after this next word!

2050ee8cd7fa4c27e3ede5d4a04def57

아니요

Pronounced like “ah-nee-yo”. (But most people say it fast enough so it sounds more like two syllables rather than three.) And though we are tempted to associate it with “no,” it has similar rules as the previous word. Think of it more as to disagree with a statement. Again, we will use the same example that is shared in TTMIK.

Example:
If you are like almost the rest of the world, you like coffee. This is how we will use 아니요 in an example.

Someone says: “You don’t like coffee?”
You would reply: “Yes, I like coffee.” or simply – 아니요 (ah-nee-yo).

You are disagreeing with their statement, because you do, in fact, enjoy/like coffee. Fun, right? Again, let’s refer to what the PDF says for 아니요(ah-nee-yo):

Capture

Now, remember how I said 네 is special? It’s like how in English how “Yeah” can be used in may different ways. Depending on how you say “Yeah” it can mean: What? Huh? Yes. Hurry up. I got it. Yup. Or even just as a filler in conversation so the other person thinks you are listening – er, I mean so they know you are listening! ;D

I mean, seriously, “yeah” can mean a lot of different things. 네 is the same.

tumblr_md1zbfki1c1qa4i1so1_500

No! Don’t run yet! There is a reason why I chose the English “Yeah” to compare to 네! It works the same way. Depending on how you say 네 can be the same. Huh? What? To answer someone when they are calling you. To fill in conversation so they think -er know- that you are listening. All that fun stuff.

Because it has so many ‘meanings’ there is a phrase they use to sometimes confirm when they are wanting it to mean “to agree”. It’s like how sometimes we say, “Yeah, that’s right.” They might say:

네, 맟아요.

(Neh, ma-jah-yo). Yes, that’s right. OR “Yeah, that’s right.”

Told you there was a method to my madness!

How was that? Fun? Interesting? Confusing? Feel free to let me know. Definitely take a listen and read the PDF they provide. Makes so much sense y’all! But that’s it for now! I leave you with that. Remember, practice! I am rooting for you while I go and practice too!

1b7f64746856a5b6bc24fa709c8e30a78a7ff186_hq
Had to be coffee?

Leave a Reply

