Level 1: TTMIK “Goodbye” Podcast #3

안녕하세요!

Welcome to me sharing about podcast number 3! Now, first, I want to address something that is quite important. All the words I have been sharing, using, and reviewing essentially have all be a part of the formal/polite level of Korean. Just like the podcast mentions, it is a good idea to learn the formal/polite level because you cannot go wrong with using it – unlike informal Korean.

(By the way, the word for that level of Korean is 존댓말. Jon-d-ye-s-mal. But most Romanize it as jondaesmal. I broke it down on how I have to sound it out. The “d” and “ye” from yesterday sound together would make the “dae” sound which explains that romanization. I will eventually go through all of the the levels and explain, but for now, let’s just leave it like this.)

With that being said, here is the podcast:

You can find the PDF here.

Alright! Let’s get down to it!

Let me start: there are MANY different way to say goodbye. In fact, I have a friend who jokes about “You want to learn about how to say good-bye? Here are 500 ways depending on your situation!”
(Yes 영조, I am looking at you.)

Luckily, they only cover 2 of them here, and they are probably going to be ones you hear/use the most. (To an extent.)

Mostly, they go over two versions: One if you are the person leaving, the other if you are the person staying. Then he gives a little “hint” to help you sound more ‘authentic’ or the main focus of the whole goodbye. Let’s cover the words!

First, if you are the person leaving!

large
He is the one saying it because he is the one leaving.

안녕히 계세요!

Let’s blow that up a little bit so you can see it a little better.

capture

Did you sound it out? I’ll help with that this time.
An-nyong-hee-gye-se-yo.
(When others post, it looks like there is a space between 히 and 계 but when I put it on paint, I forgot to do so. My apologies.)

That is when you are the one leaving/preparing to go and the others are going to stay. Like Rap Mon is getting ready to go and we are going to be sitting there starring at our camera wishing he came back…. He would be the one to say this.

Now, the next word, you will look at it a few times before you see the difference. Because I was like “Wait – isn’t that the same – oh.”

Okay, the next word is for when you are the one staying and the person is leaving:

d529b6ee0ce5cdb39e0bf88cc1d9049412d4a22f_hq
They are the ones leaving: How could you leave them?

 

안녕히 가세요!

Again, I’ll make it bigger for you!

capture

(Notice, I definitely got the space that time!)
Let’s sound this out!
an-nyong-hee-gah-se-yo.
SF9 are leaving because they have to and this is what you would say when they tell you goodbye/they love you.

One. Letter. One letter difference. Have a hard time keeping them separate? No worries! TTMIK Hyunwoo has a tip!!

vg0zkx

According to Hyunwoo, people don’t necessarily listen for the whole word. What they hear/pay attention to is the ending:

세요

se-yo.

So as long as you remember to get that part, that is the most important! Now, I am going to practice both and try to remember. In fact, how I might do so:

“Go ahead…”
So if I am staying, I am telling them to “Go ahead” with “ga”. I am okay with them leaving and me staying, so I will say 안녕히 가세요!

That leaves me with the gye for if I am leaving.
(My brain also jumped to “Go all ye”, so if I am going, I am go”ing” ye… gye. The other one was better which is why I mentioned it first.)

And that’s it!

Those are two polite/formal goodbyes that you can use for now, and will probably be used more often than others! So, since you are leaving and going to another entry/going to do something else entirely and I am going to stay and keep working on these entries, I will tell you: 안녕히 가세요!

weirdos

Next time on TTLK: Let’s Talk About: Words we THOUGHT we knew
Next in series: Level 1: TTMIK “I’m Sorry/Excuse Me” Podcast #4

2 thoughts on “Level 1: TTMIK “Goodbye” Podcast #3

Leave a Reply

