Level 1: TTMIK “I’m Sorry/Excuse Me” Podcast #4

 

안녕하세요!

Welcome back everyone! I know it has been a few entries since I have done one about a Podcast from TTMIK, so I thought it time to bring it back before jumping into even more things!

Now, I want to express something: DEFINITELY listen to the podcast! They go over more than what I do because they talk about pronunciation, why we don’t hear certain letters sometimes when they speak, and shortcuts to help sound a little more ‘native’. I don’t go over all of that here. I just don’t. Because I couldn’t explain it as well, I cannot show it, and I am just a beginner as well trying to grasp it as much as everyone else.

tumblr_inline_nlp30190ak1tntyn0
I mean, it was kind of obvious… but…

So I highly suggest that you not just read what I have here. Seriously listen, because I am sure there is a lot I do not touch. ESPECIALLY in this broadcast in particular!

With that being said, let’s get started!

PDF can be found here: Click here for the page that has the Lesson, PDF, and fun stuff!

Today we are talking about a word that I have come to realize in English is used a lot for many things. But in Korean, there are different words for different situations.

tumblr_luqj8uorco1qf6rja
You know I HAD to, right?

죄송합니다, but I just couldn’t help but make that reference. It was a must at this point.

Oh. There it is!
죄송합니다

This word is the (formal) way to apologize. “Sorry.” Let’s break it down to try to help pronounce it.
Joee-song-hab-nee-dah. If this takes a lot of practicing before it sounds decently right, don’t worry. You’re not the only one. I still stumble and trip over it to only repeat it a few times to try to make it sound something similar to what I have heard.
My advice: Don’t try to separate the first two sections too hard. I was tongue-tied on just the first section and worked too hard on it which was what confused me. Just try to let it flow a little more “naturally” and it starts to get better. I kind of sound like I say
Josong-hab-needah.

Now, here is something important that I had no idea about – this word is ONLY used as an APOLOGY. If you are in the wrong. It means “I apologize/excuse me” because you are at fault.

I am NOTORIOUS for saying “Oh I’m so sorry,” when I hear bad news or something negative happens. I cannot help it. But in those situations, 죄송합니다 is NOT the word to use. I did not do anything to cause those situations, it is not my fault. So to apologize for those things happening seems odd.
If you do the English thing and say “죄송합니다,” when you hear bad news, their reaction would be “Why? What are you apologizing for?” It may lead to some people misunderstanding and then believe that it was something you had done that caused this negative thing to happen.
Nope. Not what we wanted. Not what we were intending.

Now that we got that out of the way, just remember: 죄송합니다 ONLY for apologizing.

tumblr_nzgzdskaue1svb0geo8_400

Now that we have that fun formal version, what about the informal? Like if you were to apologize to your friend? The apology we hear a lot in like vLive episodes is:
미안해

Yup. Let’s sound that one out: Mee-an-hae.

Simple. And remember, this is just for apologies. Same reasoning as 죄송합니다.


 

So, if those words are ONLY for apologies, what do you way for those bad instances?
Listen to the podcast. They talk about it. For now, I am sticking with the two phrases that are mentioned in the title. (But we should be getting back to what to say maybe in a later entry.)

Now, the PDF talks about different instances and different words to use for what I would basically say “Excuse me.” So, let’s touch those as well!

So, first scenario – say you want to get someone’s attention. It could be someone you want to talk to, inform them of something, or it could even be to get the attention of the waiter so you can place your order. You would say:

저기요!

Jo-gee-yo! (Remember, short ‘o’ sound for the first section. Long ‘o’ for the second section.)

infinite-gif
This way we don’t resort to extremes like this to get someone’s attention.

What about if you are walking through a crowd and need to get past people? This instance, you can say 죄송합니다 because you are apologizing for bumping them or whatever, but there are a few more phrases you can use as well.

My favorite is:
잠깐만요!

Jam-Kan-man-yo! It means something similar to “just a second”. There is another word that means that as well (to the point that the PDF says they are the same thing).

잠시만요!

Jam-see-man-yo! Also means “just a second.” Another option of “excuse me” when going through crowd.

tumblr_inline_nppgoi7geq1ruolbv_500


 

Alright! There we go! Going over ‘basics’ of the Podcast! No tips or the extra stuff, but hopefully this was useful enough.

감사함니다 for sticking through the whole entry. Whew! It took a lot of thought to make sure I explained it in an understandable way (and a lot of text at one point, compared to a lot of my other entries, am I right?) so I hope it makes sense.

Next, I was thinking about practicing reading maybe and work on some possible pronunciation? Or maybe more words from KDramas/KFandom that we all “know”. We’ll just see where we go from here.

Until then:
안녕히 가세요!

81fc8e5f66d333ac7e0ed6c93910afbcf41b8d3e_hq

Leave a Reply

