Let’s Talk About: Words We THOUGHT We Knew – Part 2

안녕하세요!

And welcome back to another session of “Words We Thought We Knew!” (More like words and phrases, right?) Now, I know these seem like stereotypical words to cover, but there is a reason. I want to show the spelling, work together on pronunciation, go over what the ACTUAL meanings are (some are … more complicated than we realize?) but also keep in mind that we are all just learning. And what better way to learn than to go over words we have heard from things we love – like Kpop songs and KDramas?

Since we are also familiar with these words, we may feel a little more comfortable, but also use them to work on reading Hangul and getting the sounds/letters to make more sense in our mind.

Method for my madness.

gif-8

Surprised? 알았어. Let’s get started!

Oh look at that – the first word I wanted to go over! 알았어. Let’s sound this out (who knows for how much longer I will be doing this! I am hoping that soon we can break away from this, but for now…)

Ah-ll-ah-so.
Now some may recognize this and actually pronounce this with more of an ‘r’ sound rather than the ‘l’. I think this is acceptable. ㄹ is one of those letters that is a mixture of sounds. It is a mix between L and R. So I think this should be fine.

Let us remember, I am no expert.

But when I say it with the ‘L’ sound, it sounds very similar/the same to what we hear from the Dramas, so I tend to keep it there until I am otherwise corrected by someone who knows what they are saying/doing.

Now, what does this mean? When you hear it, it is right after people are explaining or trying to tell someone something, so the person responds with 알았어. It is like “I got it.” “I understand.” “Alright.”

Easy enough, right?

giphy


진짜, I might be making this harder than it should be, but you know why I do this, right? 좋아해.

좋아해 – now, this may look slightly confusing, but once you sound it out, you will probably recognize it. J-o-ha-h-eh. Jo-ha-heh. (like, Canadian “eh”.)

Oh! I know some of you got it! It means “I like you.” In general. Talking about something you like. You can be talking about animals, food, toys – you name it. It does not have to mean like in a romantic sense. You can tell your friends 좋아해 without it meaning anymore more than just that friendly like. Whoo!

좋아해 white chocolate and Cadbury eggs! Ahem. Sorry. Anyway…

large


I have a slight conundrum. This next word I want to talk about is known for one phrase in particular, but it actually means a lot of different things. 어떻게?

Sounding this out will be interesting. But you guys saw the word, right? 어떻게.
o(like the o from odd)-duh-geh.
Does that sound familiar? It should. Odehgeh. Most people write it as eotteohge?

When used in a drama, it is when usually the main character is running saying this, while panicked. Usually when you read the subtitles, it says “What do I do?” So as they chant “어떻게, 어떻게!” It means “What do I do? What do I do?”

But that isn’t the full meaning of that word. That word actually means “how” as well. It can be used in full sentences and – What better way than to show you?

어떻게 하려고? – What are you going to do? This one is nice because it is similar to what we were thinking but instead of the person worrying, it is someone else asking them.

어떻게 지냈어? – How have you been?

The definition behind this one seems a little more… complex. But for now, if you hear it in a KDrama, it is the “What am I going to do/what do I do??” type of deal. But remember this word for sentence usage at some other time.

giphy1


Okay, since this is turning out to be a LOT wordier than I had originally planned, I will only touch two more words, and I can do them at the same time. Some words that many of us are like “AH! I need this so I can call my bias my-”

No. Not husband. Not bias. But what most people want is a relationship with them it seems like. No? Not really? Okay, well, I am going to at least show you the word for boyfriend and girlfriend. Ready?

남자친구 – Boyfriend
여자친구 – Girlfriend

This is… pretty self explanatory right? I want to point out something to help make things a little easier in regards to how to remember these words. Have we talked about the word 친구? (Cheen-geu). Means friend. Notice how it is in Boyfriend AND in Girlfriend? Yeah. Makes sense.

Now to pronounce them –
남자친구 – nam-ja-cheen-geu
여자친구 – yoh-ja-cheen-geu

2013-02-2621_16_47


And that is the words we are covering today! Whew! Hope this was useful/helpful. I am serious when I say that this turned out much longer/wordier than I had originally planned.

Hopefully it was enjoyable/informative as well.

아이구! My poor brain. (Oh, Aigo… that one doesn’t require much explaniation, right?) But here we go! Next time we’ll – actually, I am unsure of what I want to touch on next time. Shall I do research on sentences? Should we start some pronunciation/reading practice by learning a slower KPop song? Or should I do another podcast entry?

We will figure it out next time.  Until then –

안녕히가세요!

977a53db

Next time on TTLK: Let’s Talk About: Adjective Placement and More Sentence Structure!

2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About: Words We THOUGHT We Knew – Part 2

Leave a Reply

