Let’s Talk About: Adjective Placement and More Sentence Structure!

안녕하세요!

I don’t know about you guys, but I was questioning a few things yesterday while I was writing that whole “three word section” in Korean because I realized something: I had no idea about adjective placement in the Korean language. I knew that the sentence structure differed, but what about adjective placement?

And as for sentence structure, what about the more complex sentences and what was a better way to describe it?

tumblr_inline_oqug8aiybo1t6h3q6_540

정말, my brain went there.

So because we are learning more and more words, I figured going over this a little bit would be 대박, because we want to be able to piece our own little sentences or at least understand a little bit more while when we hear words we know actually being used. (Let’s just say, I nerded out while watching my latest KDrama because I recognized a few more words and understood a bit more than I did before.)

19179478_10100902211353670_861863273_o

I was pleasantly surprised at what I have found and decided to share my discoveries with you guys as well. Ready?


Let’s start with Adjective Placement, since this is what got me all confused and curious yesterday. I was talking about my 대박 친구 영조! Because she made me all those amazing icons and banners and stuff for this site! (Nice, right? Looks a lot better! Only thing messed up is the lettering I did. I will fix that eventually. I want to match the one she did someday!) But as I was typing, I could not help but wonder:

Do they do adjectives like how they do in English (before the noun) or more like Spanish (after the noun).

Essentially, would it be:
Awesome friend Yeong-Joo.
Or
Friend Awesome Yeong-Joo. (or some other variance).

Guys.
GUYS. You are GOING TO LOVE THIS.
According to HowToStudyKorean.com, adjectives are used THE SAME WAY IN KOREAN AS WE DO IN ENGLISH.
Translation: Do that adjective before the noun you are describing!

14741bea78739f23b85506212d6722195b41bcda_hq

BAM. (Now, the site goes waaaaay into detail about how to correct the adjective and how it is supposed to be written and all that, but… we’re not going into that right now. Though I will love to be at the level.) There is of course more to this, but for now, just understand: Adjectives used similar to English. The way I used it yesterday (대박 친구 영조) is actually correct.

tumblr_nsgtgdw6at1uwtwcco2_250


Now, I may be jumping the gun with this (probably am. No, definitely am), but I figure there would be those who are interested in at least basic sentence structure stuff. That they would want to at least know/hear this so when we learn more words/see it in action, we can start piecing it together in our minds.

91c6264746abd2f3feb3c9ec300c6eee
Covers the spectrum of reactions I believe.

First I wanted to talk about something I just learned:
In Korean, the sentence has to end with a verb or an adjective.

Now someone may be going “Wait wait wait. You JUST told me to describe a noun, you put the adjective BEFORE the noun.” And my answer is:
Yes. Yes I did. But let me explain how that works and why we say that.

This is mostly for those simple sentences that don’t really have a verb except the whole “to be” thing. Simple sentences like:
He is an idiot.
My boyfriend is handsome.
My girlfriend is cute.
That song is awesome.

These are sentences that end with an adjective. We don’t just say “My handsome boyfriend” and leave it like that. We would say “My boyfriend is handsome.” Only way you would use “My handsome boyfriend” is if there was more to the sentence. “My handsome boyfriend is picking me up today from work.”

tumblr_o6i83lsczu1uj3c04o1_500
This gesture came to mind, I couldn’t resist. 죄송합니다.

Want an example of some sentences in Korean with adjectives at the end and break it down for you? For you 진구, I will.

남자친구 잘 생겼어. – My boyfriend is handsome.
Notice that the ‘is” isn’t really in the Korean sentence. That is why it is in red. It isn’t represented. This sentence essentially says “My boyfriend handsome.”
I am also noting that 내 is “My/of mine.” Not like it makes a huge difference now, but eh. “My” is good definition for 내 for now…


Okay! So basic sentence structures! Let’s go over some.

Let’s start by stating that I liked how this site (LinguaJunkie.com) had some of the sentence set-ups available. (I had to read and re-read before of the format, but I am sure people do that for mine as well, so as long as it makes sense eventually…). I will be using their set-ups and (kind of) their explanations as well. Let’s break down the types they are showing.

  • Subject + Noun (to be verb)
  • Subject + Verb
  • Subject + Adjective – which we already went over!
  • Subject + Object + Verb

Remember this entry when I talked about the “to be” verb and all that? That essentially is that first sentence structure. Okay? Okay. We move on to other ones!

tumblr_mddkj896v81qg6qnso1_r1_250
알았어, 알았어!

Subject + Verb.

I am just going to change the subject in this sentence to say 오유아.

오유아  달린다. – Oyoa is running. (는 I guess helps to point to me, Oyoa, as the subject of the sentence? I honestly cannot explain this yet so I am using the information provided on LinguaJunkie to help. I will also show an explanation from another site after showing the last “simple sentence structure.” )

19125884_10100902211378620_1641232379_o
I am not a fan of running, by the way. 

Subject + Object + Verb

Again, let’s show the example using Oyoa!

오유아  물을 마신다. – Oyoa drinks water. (Again, 는 is to help point to me as subject of the sentence.) Oyoa is the Subject, water is the Object, and drinks is the Verb.

Nice, yes?


Now, let’s get into the whole 는 subject. I will not go into detail nor will I explain in an easier way for now. What I will do is show the explanation that HillsLearning.com provided.

/

은/는comes after the subject like 이/가, but it is used when the speaker wants to talk about or explain the main idea, topic, or issue of discussion. When words end with vowels, 는is added, and when words end in consonants, 은 is added.

Seems simple enough, but I cannot explain/show this right now. So we will leave that for another time when I can go more in depth/actually understand.


 

Annnnnnnnd – that’s it! That is all I am going to be covering today!

tumblr_n6xtk0y0y51qknjd1o1_500
I know, you are probably SO THANKFUL. That was a bit intense, right?

But that is a sneak peak into how to start constructing sentences and such in Korean. Honestly, I am happy I looked all of this up and started seeing how things will work. This helps put some of it into perspective and let’s me nerd out during my shows when I recognize something/know what is going on to an extent.

So this is where you leave me to continue to other things, go over your notes, reread, practice, or do whatever you do after you finish one of these entries.

Until next time –

감사합니다 for reading and 안녕히가세요!

tumblr_objv6am0zx1um3444o1_1280
Bye!

Leave a Reply

