Let’s Talk About: Word We THOUGHT We Knew – Part 3

안녕하세요!

Aaaaaand we’re back! Whew! How was the brain work from the previous review? Hopefully it was useful. I thought for fun that we could do more words that we have heard from our “Korean explorations.”

Before I get to more fun things that we need to reward ourselves, I just wanted to let y’all know that I am looking into a way to make better quizzes and study guides to help us progress and test what we learn. Good yea? (I have asked others that are studying as well and one of the things we talked about was having more quizzes or ways to refresh and keep up with what we have learned. And the way I did it wasn’t the best way to do so – so research is being done, and if you have any suggestions, let me know!)

Now, let’s get back to the fun stuff! Here are some words that I actually looked up and found: And let me say, it was so exciting to truly see how to spell it and what it fully means.


tumblr_inline_n3eqyqazle1s6cn1e
No way – intense moment.

First word: 안돼

This word. This is the word that inspired me to write this entry and truly look up some more words that may not be thought of as often. I was watching Hwarang when a character shouted it in a dream sequence. It was intense and effective and honestly – I just wanted to know what it meant. I wanted to know the actual meaning.

And the meaning is: No.
More like: “No way!”
It appears at more dramatic and intense moments like when a person is in disbelief or is scared. Which is why it appeared at that scene and why it feels like it had such effect. Fantastic, isn’t it?

Now, how to pronounce it? An-deu-eh. Now, I broke it up into three syllables for pronunciation but when you actually say it, it is pronounced more like two. Combine the last two syllables into one. An-deueh. Now you got it.


tumblr_nwwrjjmlnn1tbkvhto1_500
I am heartbroken – Just go. Leave.

가자!

Now, I am sure you have heard this word before. “Gah-jah!” Do you know what it means? “Go.”
Remember when the male lead is just so upset with someone and just needed a moment and they just wouldn’t leave –
Which leads him to say this phrase with authority: “가자.” Heartbreaking and/or intense. I always had a feeling what this meant but to fully know is always nice. And it doesn’t even have to be dramatic. It can be as simple as a mom telling her child “가자 가자, 빨리!” (which we are about to cover in a moment) as she shoos them outside as she cleans the house. I just think dramatically I guess.


Another word that I would always hear, had an idea of what it was, but wanted to confirm was:

2a3e5eb996ebc51fa99d6eeea970676d

빨리!

Someone is always hurrying someone else in KDramas. Maybe it is to hide in the closet as they hear footsteps, or they are just in a hurry to get somewhere – like the market because they heard of an AMAZING sale that is apparently happening – this word is always said.

It means: Fast. Quickly. Hurry Up!
Pronounced: BBahl-lee! (Remember, this is a very hard B so it does sound a bit like a P is being said instead!)
All of these apply/work. I can easily imagine many scenes where this would be used. You probably have heard it plenty of times as well if you watch KDramas and recognize it being said probably twice in a row. So, with that being said, let’s 빨리 빨리 to the next word!


Now, this next word I am a little embarrassed about because I recently realized (a little late) that I never officially covered this word. Because I use it so much in my own life already, I thought I had already covered it (and even used it when explaining how to pronounce/recognize a word in a  previous entry).

So let’s “officially” cover this word now.

e6ff8a01a89f04d0252539c41fcbf5c4

친구.

Meaning: Friend.
Pronounced: Cheen-gu
I use this word a lot with my own friends who are also using/learning Korean. I even have referenced to/used it here on this blog a couple of times. When we were learning the words 여자친구 and 남자친구 (girlfriend and boyfriend) I pointed out 친구 to try to make it easier to figure out upon sight without realizing it had not been truly covered. And you may remember an entry being inspired by me wondering if 대박친구 영조 was the proper way to write it – very commonly referenced.

So 죄송합니다 for my error. Hopefully it hasn’t caused too much confusion.


Now this next sentence was actually a pure coincidence that I chose it/it is being used right after this last word. Always fun to learn a phrase, right?

1e10d955ac6fea3f06510de871a09dc9

걱정하지마.

Meaning: Don’t worry about it.
Pronounced: gaug-jauong-hah-jee-mah.
Eventually, I will break down the sentence and show how it words fit, but for now, we’ll just have the whole sentence as one meaning. But it is a nice phrase to know, right? I cannot remember where exactly I have heard it, but I know I use this phrase in my English speaking life all the time. So it doesn’t hurt to know it in Korean as well.


Alright! One more word! And this will be the last one for the entry! Remember earlier how we had 가자? Let’s do kind of the opposite:

tumblr_mm8gerwuvi1qm7z9do1_500

가지마.

Meaning: Don’t Go.
Pronounced: Gah-Jee-Mah

Now, I imagine tears in the eyes of a heartbroken Main Character while another character has their back to them as they slowly walk away. “가지마,” I cry out as I realize my error…
Well, you get the idea.


4166a0448905e7b931da84595018543f

And that’s the end! That is all the words we are going to be covering today! Whew! 6 words if I counted correctly. We’ll see.

Now, what can you expect for the next entry? Someone smartly recommended that I start posting/sharing more “everyday” vocabulary. Words that you would probably use more often in your everyday life type of deal. I will share the name of the new segments …. next time! Until then:

안녕하가세요!

Next time on TTLK: New Section: Vocab Blasts!
Next in Series: TBD

One thought on “Let’s Talk About: Word We THOUGHT We Knew – Part 3

Leave a Reply

